The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 03, 2005, 11:40pm
JEL JEL is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 910
Quote:
Originally posted by whiskers_ump
NFHS game: Situation 1 on [1B] 2 out, 3-2 count.
Pitch bounces in front of HP and is cleanly caught by the catcher on the
bounce after the batter swung and missed. Defense leaves the field while
the batter is standing staring at the dugout unsure of what to do.
After teams exchange sides, offensive coach of previous inning goes to
PU and asked - "was the batter entitled to attempt to take first on the D3K?"
PU replies, "No, the catcher had cleanly fielded the pitch after the pitch
became the 3rd strike after the batter swung and missed." He further explained
that the pitch was not a strike until after the batter swung at the ball,
and that the catcher had then made a clean catch after the ball had become the
3rd strike.
Coach was not buying this, has sent a letter to the chapter that I now
have to answer. [No, I was not even there] [Rule Interp for chapter]
Geez glen,

You know this one, you just don't want to write that letter do you?

Maybe an honest "we will be continuing the training of this official" is about all you can say.

I don't envy you! Good Luck!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1