The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 03, 2005, 09:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
NFHS game: Situation 1 on [1B] 2 out, 3-2 count.
Pitch bounces in front of HP and is cleanly caught by the catcher on the
bounce after the batter swung and missed. Defense leaves the field while
the batter is standing staring at the dugout unsure of what to do.
After teams exchange sides, offensive coach of previous inning goes to
PU and asked - "was the batter entitled to attempt to take first on the D3K?"
PU replies, "No, the catcher had cleanly fielded the pitch after the pitch
became the 3rd strike after the batter swung and missed." He further explained
that the pitch was not a strike until after the batter swung at the ball,
and that the catcher had then made a clean catch after the ball had become the
3rd strike.
Coach was not buying this, has sent a letter to the chapter that I now
have to answer. [No, I was not even there] [Rule Interp for chapter]
__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 03, 2005, 11:40pm
JEL JEL is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 910
Quote:
Originally posted by whiskers_ump
NFHS game: Situation 1 on [1B] 2 out, 3-2 count.
Pitch bounces in front of HP and is cleanly caught by the catcher on the
bounce after the batter swung and missed. Defense leaves the field while
the batter is standing staring at the dugout unsure of what to do.
After teams exchange sides, offensive coach of previous inning goes to
PU and asked - "was the batter entitled to attempt to take first on the D3K?"
PU replies, "No, the catcher had cleanly fielded the pitch after the pitch
became the 3rd strike after the batter swung and missed." He further explained
that the pitch was not a strike until after the batter swung at the ball,
and that the catcher had then made a clean catch after the ball had become the
3rd strike.
Coach was not buying this, has sent a letter to the chapter that I now
have to answer. [No, I was not even there] [Rule Interp for chapter]
Geez glen,

You know this one, you just don't want to write that letter do you?

Maybe an honest "we will be continuing the training of this official" is about all you can say.

I don't envy you! Good Luck!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 04, 2005, 08:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dacula, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,775
Reword the affect for Letter Two

Dear Coach,

It appears one of our umpires gave you an inaccurate interpretation of the dropped third strike rule. We apologize, and will make sure he (and all our other umpires) are appropriately directed in addressing this rule. It clearly placed your team at no disadvantage, however, since you batter chose not to attempt to first base.

To be clear, if there are two outs, or if first base is unoccupied with less than two outs, the defense must complete the out on a batter on a third strike unless the pitch is caught in flight from the pitcher; if at any time from pitcher's hand to catcher's glove, the ball touches the ground, it is not caught.

Sincerely yours,

................
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 04, 2005, 09:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
Talking

Again, Thanks Steve.

You sure are saving me a lot of work, well typing.

I don't know where we get our coaches. But then they
probably wonder where we get our umpires.
__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1