The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 02, 2005, 08:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Crete, Nebraska
Posts: 733
Send a message via ICQ to shipwreck
Rule 10-7b states, when the ball accidentally slips from the pitchers hand during the act of delivering the pitch, an illegal pitch shall be called. My question is this. The ball could in fact slip from the pitchers hand when the arm is coming forward, and look a little similar to a bad pitch. Would you still call this an illegal pitch? An umpire might believe it slipped, but what do you use for your judgement? A pitch that flies backwards or sideways is easy to judge that it slipped, but not one that flies towards the plate. Dave
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 04, 2005, 03:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Crete, Nebraska
Posts: 733
Send a message via ICQ to shipwreck
Just moving this topic to the top. It wasn't answered and moving out of reach. Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 04, 2005, 03:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
A ball that moves forward IS a pitch. Treat it as such.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1