The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 18, 2005, 01:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 964
Mike: "Now you are going to have to define the game you are playing"

ASA or NFHS FP Softball.

MA SB UMP: "All runners in this sitch are "entitled to advance without liability to be put out..."

Only to the base they were forced to by a walked batter. In my situation runners reach that base - and then go past the base - and are put out before the first runner touches home.

The question: "Is an awarded run scored instantly? Or can it be negated by rules that normally apply to runners that must earn their way home?"

WMB
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 18, 2005, 01:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Re: Re: BOB - BL

Quote:
Originally posted by Dakota
The ball is in play. R2 advances farther. R2 is at risk. R2 is tagged out for the third out. R1 has not yet crossed home.

Does the run score anyway? [/B]
Quote:
Originally posted by WestMichBlue
The question: "Is an awarded run scored instantly? Or can it be negated by rules that normally apply to runners that must earn their way home?"[/B]
Not sure how many times this has to be answered. No, the run does not score.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 18, 2005, 02:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Re: Re: Re: BOB - BL

Quote:
Originally posted by mcrowder
Not sure how many times this has to be answered.
Apparently as many times as it keeps being asked. My Q that you quote was not because I was unsure; it was intended as a rhetorical back to MA Softball Ump who cited a rule & said that, yes, the run would score (at least that is what I understood him to be saying). Note my first answer in this thread.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 18, 2005, 03:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Fair enough.

Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 18, 2005, 05:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 11
Lets reach a little. Take the bases loaded situation and the batter walks. Say the runners are off with the pitch and it is ball four. R1 at third did not run, R2 did and over runs 3rd and is tagged out. Is R1 in jeopardy to be put out now that the force is removed by R2 being tagged out? Hmmm?
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 18, 2005, 11:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
Quote:
Originally posted by Ranger23
Lets reach a little. Take the bases loaded situation and the batter walks. Say the runners are off with the pitch and it is ball four. R1 at third did not run, R2 did and over runs 3rd and is tagged out. Is R1 in jeopardy to be put out now that the force is removed by R2 being tagged out? Hmmm?
23,

Not if you are using the originally posted situation. There were already
two outs.
__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 19, 2005, 04:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 11
I'm just adding a wrinkle to the situation by saying there is only one out, is the runner from third in jeopardy to be put out?

I had a hard time finding these answers in a case book and had to go back to one from the early 90's to reference any situation and the answer might surprise some of you out there.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 19, 2005, 05:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 189
Quote:
Originally posted by Ranger23
I'm just adding a wrinkle to the situation by saying there is only one out, is the runner from third in jeopardy to be put out?

I had a hard time finding these answers in a case book and had to go back to one from the early 90's to reference any situation and the answer might surprise some of you out there.
No,not from the original scenerio.
Why would it matter how many outs there are? That would only matter as to whether the game is over.
Referencing the 90's, you got way too much time on your hands. Dont leae us hangin though, tell us what it says.

Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 19, 2005, 08:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 964
"Why would it matter how many outs there are? "

Actually it is a good question. If the force is off, is R1 still entitled to free passage home? Or can R1 be tagged out walking to home plate?

WMB
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 19, 2005, 02:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 112
[QUOTE]Originally posted by WestMichBlue
[B]Mike: "Now you are going to have to define the game you are playing"

ASA or NFHS FP Softball.

MA SB UMP: "All runners in this sitch are "entitled to advance without liability to be put out..."
It seems to me the most important part of that rule here would be "Any runner affected is entitled to one base and may advance at their own risk". Once they pass the base they can be put out.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 19, 2005, 02:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 112
Sorry .... I kinda messed up the quote. I think you can figure it out. Brian
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 20, 2005, 05:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 11
Answer is,

In the original scenerio, according to the only case book which references the situation, the run would still count. It is from the 92 baseball case book, when cross referencing the wording in the rule books the wording reads basicaly the same. The key word is ENTITLED, that means guaranteed regardless of what happens. AT the time of the pitch sets the stage and at the time of the pitch bases were loaded so every one is entitled to the next base. The ball does remain live and the 3rd out was made but not until after the pitch had occured. If the runner fails to touch home you may however get a fourth out on appeal.

The second scenerio, no the runner is not liable to be put out because at the time of the pitch the bases were loaded and with ball 4 came the entitlement to home.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1