The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 15, 2005, 03:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Apparently the stipulation about a subsequent play on a different runner will not be removed next year—it belongs there. However, the new rule still needs clarification.

The clause about a subsequent play applies only if the runner who was obstructed is not the lone runner. If he is the lone runner, he can now be put out between the bases where he was obstructed (after he makes the base he would have made without the OBS) for a fifth reason beyond the four that existed last year (passes a runner, leaves a base too soon, misses a base, commits interference).

Therefore:

1. Nobody on. Abel singles to center and takes a wide turn. The defense throws behind Abel, and Abel is obstructed going back to 1B. The ball gets away and Abel returns to 1B, then tries to advance to 2B. Abel is thrown out at 2B.

Now Abel is out. (Last year, he could not have been put out between 1B and 2B.)

2. Same situation, but after the OBS, Abel does not return to 1B but tries for 2B and is thrown out.

Return Abel to 1B. He didn't make the base he would have made without the OBS.

3. Abel on 1B, no outs. Baker gets a hit. Abel makes it to 3B but Baker is caught in a rundown between 1B and 2B. Baker is obstructed going back to 1B but makes it safely anyway. The ball gets away and Abel tries to score. The defense throws home to play on Abel (safe or out doesn't matter), and then Baker is thrown out trying for 2B.

Baker is out. He was not the lone runner, he made it to the base he would have made, and there was a subsequent play on a different runner.

4. Same situation as in #3, except that after the ball gets away Abel remains on 3B and there is no play on Abel. Baker is thrown out trying for 2B.

Baker is returned to 1B, because Baker was not the lone runner and (though he made the base he would have made absent the OBS) there was no subsequent play on a different runner.

__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1