We haven't had any of our rules clinics yet this year (neither Fed nor ASA), but just going by the written word in the rule book,
Quote:
Originally posted by greymule
The clause about a subsequent play applies only if the runner who was obstructed is not the lone runner. If he is the lone runner, he can now be put out between the bases where he was obstructed (after he makes the base he would have made without the OBS) for a fifth reason beyond the four that existed last year (passes a runner, leaves a base too soon, misses a base, commits interference).
|
Obviously there can only be a subsequent play on another runner if there IS another runner, but how do you come to the conclusion that there is in addition a fifth exception that does not involve another runner? (Using only the printed rule)?
In your situations, I would have:
1. Safe, return the runner to 1st.
2. Safe, return the runner to 1st.
3. Out.
4. Safe, return the runner to 1st.