The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sat Mar 05, 2005, 04:20pm
Official Forum Member

Has anyone attended an ASA National Umpire School? Even though I have been umpiring NCAA,NFHS,and ASA Fastpitch for 10+ years,I am always striving to improve my umpiring.I would like to know your experiences at one of these schools and would it be benificial to someone who only officiates the fast pitch game.Thanks.

Jeff

Old Sat Mar 05, 2005, 06:12pm
Official Forum Member

Best School you will ever attend. If you ever get a chance, go....also go to the asa fastpitch camp....and btw, fastpitch only umpires need all the help they can get :-)
Old Sat Mar 05, 2005, 06:31pm
Official Forum Member

Thanks Darrell.I was thinking of attending the one in Syracuse,NY in a couple of weeks which is about a 4 hour drive for me here in PA.Like I said,I am strictly a fast pitch umpire and hope they cover enough FP to make it worth my while.

Jeff
Old Sun Mar 06, 2005, 12:54am
Official Forum Member

"Best School you will ever attend. If you ever get a chance, go....also go to the asa fastpitch camp

The Fastpitch camp is in CA this year so us Midwestern or Eastern umpires need a strong desire to attend (and a fat wallet).

My experience did not match Bigdawgs. I attended the NUS held in South Bend IN this weekend. Maybe my expectations were too high; I assumed that because this was a "National" school, with "National" staff that it was going to be cutting edge; high level. In fact, it was closer to a Rookies Camp. I was bored and frustrated with the level of training and I left at the end of day one. A waste of my time, not to mention three hundred bucks for school and travel expenses.