The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 04, 2005, 04:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by greymule
ASA does not rule people out for abandoning a base, base line, base path or anything else until they have left the field of play, or possibly assisted back toward a base.

Such a specific answer is always appreciated: BR is not out until she leaves the field of play or is assisted toward a base. Until one of those occurs, she can advance to 1B after an uncaught strike 3 with 2 out.

So the BR can walk from the batter's box out to left field, accept her glove from a teammate, get into fielding position, and as long as nobody has yet interfered with the ball, run to 1B.

Thanks. I'm glad to know what to call.
Well, by the book, yes. However, there is one little phrase that you used which will more than likely prevent such a scenario. It is unlikely that the game ball is going to lay there untouched for such a period of time. It's possible, but not likely to happen that often.

In ASA, if you do have something that goofy, you can always use 10.1 as this possible scenario certainly isn't specifically covered within the rules.

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1