The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 15, 2005, 07:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
Question

I'm confused by this question....

22. (FP Only) B1 attempts a drag bunt or slap hit. At the moment the ball contacts the bat only once, which is no longer in the batter's hands, the batter's lead foot is completely outside the batter's box and on the ground. Umpire rules dead ball, batter out.

I'm not sure of what is going on here. On the drag bunt or slap hit, is the bat out of the batter's hands when the ball made contact with the bat?

If so, is this a legal hit? I know by rule if the batter makes contact with the entire foot completely out of the batter's box, it is an out (Rule 7-6-D). However, does this not imply that the bat is in his/her hands? The rule mentioned above does not say that explicitly, but is it implied?

Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1