Thread: Question 22
View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 15, 2005, 07:50am
rwest rwest is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
Question

I'm confused by this question....

22. (FP Only) B1 attempts a drag bunt or slap hit. At the moment the ball contacts the bat only once, which is no longer in the batter's hands, the batter's lead foot is completely outside the batter's box and on the ground. Umpire rules dead ball, batter out.

I'm not sure of what is going on here. On the drag bunt or slap hit, is the bat out of the batter's hands when the ball made contact with the bat?

If so, is this a legal hit? I know by rule if the batter makes contact with the entire foot completely out of the batter's box, it is an out (Rule 7-6-D). However, does this not imply that the bat is in his/her hands? The rule mentioned above does not say that explicitly, but is it implied?

Reply With Quote