The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Question 22 (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/18503-question-22-a.html)

rwest Tue Feb 15, 2005 07:50am

I'm confused by this question....

22. (FP Only) B1 attempts a drag bunt or slap hit. At the moment the ball contacts the bat only once, which is no longer in the batter's hands, the batter's lead foot is completely outside the batter's box and on the ground. Umpire rules dead ball, batter out.

I'm not sure of what is going on here. On the drag bunt or slap hit, is the bat out of the batter's hands when the ball made contact with the bat?

If so, is this a legal hit? I know by rule if the batter makes contact with the entire foot completely out of the batter's box, it is an out (Rule 7-6-D). However, does this not imply that the bat is in his/her hands? The rule mentioned above does not say that explicitly, but is it implied?


SWFLguy Tue Feb 15, 2005 08:51am

I actually saw this once in a men's FP tournament.
I was working the plate when a batter squared to bunt
and tossed the bat at the ball-- it all happened so fast,
I was not sure if he was out of the box when the bat
did hit the ball, and only once, too !
I just let it go as in my mind nothing seemed illegal !!
I talked to the base umpire about it later and we agreed.
It was a risky thing, if the bat had hit the ball again,
I would have called dead ball and batter out for interference.
Never ever saw it again, it must have been 15 years ago.

rwest Tue Feb 15, 2005 08:58am

So, what you are saying is...
 
So, the bat does not have to be in the hands of the batter to be a legal hit? Does this also mean that if the batters foot is completely out of the batter's box when the bat makes contact with the ball,whether or not his hand is on the bat, it is a dead ball, batter out?


whiskers_ump Tue Feb 15, 2005 09:16am

Re: So, what you are saying is...
 
Quote:

Originally posted by rwest
So, the bat does not have to be in the hands of the batter to be a legal hit? Does this also mean that if the batters foot is completely out of the batter's box when the bat makes contact with the ball,whether or not his hand is on the bat, it is a dead ball, batter out?


That is what the rule says.

<b>When an entire foot is touching the ground completely
outside the lines of the batter's box <u>when the ball
makes contact with the bat.</b></u>




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1