The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 18, 2005, 11:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
ASA has been very clear on the "cannot be put out between the bases where the obs occurred" rule. Here it is: cannot. Prior to this year, there were only these exceptions:

1) An infraction by the obstructed runner (e.g. interference)
2) A valid appeal (e.g. missed base).

That's it.

This year, ASA added the exception for an intervening play on another runner. Merely making it back to the protected base is not an exception to the rule.

The proper ruling in your example is dead ball and return the runner to the base she was protected to.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1