View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 18, 2005, 11:37am
Dakota Dakota is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
ASA has been very clear on the "cannot be put out between the bases where the obs occurred" rule. Here it is: cannot. Prior to this year, there were only these exceptions:

1) An infraction by the obstructed runner (e.g. interference)
2) A valid appeal (e.g. missed base).

That's it.

This year, ASA added the exception for an intervening play on another runner. Merely making it back to the protected base is not an exception to the rule.

The proper ruling in your example is dead ball and return the runner to the base she was protected to.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote