The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 17, 2001, 07:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 517
2nd base by the ground rule. The obstruction is inmaterial if the batted ball goes out of play, as 2nd is as far as she would have reached. Two base award from time of pitch.

Its not unusual with a quick runner, that if the ball had remained in play, she would have made 3rd base, but by the ball becoming lodged,bouncing over, or going through the fence she is forced to remain at second.

Another example you might consider: Batter hits a fly ball to outfield. F1 watching the ball and enroute to back up possible play at plate obstructs BR before she reaches 1st base. We would signal the obstruction, but would not make any award if the ball is caught in flight, because the batter would have been out on the catch. The obstruction was inmaterial to the catch.

Roger Greene
Member UT
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1