2nd base by the ground rule. The obstruction is inmaterial if the batted ball goes out of play, as 2nd is as far as she would have reached. Two base award from time of pitch.
Its not unusual with a quick runner, that if the ball had remained in play, she would have made 3rd base, but by the ball becoming lodged,bouncing over, or going through the fence she is forced to remain at second.
Another example you might consider: Batter hits a fly ball to outfield. F1 watching the ball and enroute to back up possible play at plate obstructs BR before she reaches 1st base. We would signal the obstruction, but would not make any award if the ball is caught in flight, because the batter would have been out on the catch. The obstruction was inmaterial to the catch.
Roger Greene
Member UT
|