The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 07, 2001, 11:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
KC,
See Rule 8, Section 4. Article 2r. This states that a runner, after reaching 1B, is out when she has OBVIOUSLY abandoned any effort to reach the next base. I do not see anything in Rule 7 - Batting - and Rule 8 begins by stating that the batter becomes a runner when... So we're talking about a runner here, we just usually refer to this particular person as the batter-runner. Anyway, this runner did not yet reach 1B, so the OBVIOUS abandonment is not in force here. I would apply the ASA standard that this runner must enter dead ball territory to be called out on a dropped 3rd strike.
We've got another regular poster here who is very good with Fed rules, Maybe Roger will have a correction or clarification on this play.
__________________
Steve M
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1