The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 05, 2004, 01:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by Leecedar


HOWEVER,
What happens if R3 doesn't touch 2nd and instead goes to join the celebration and the defense makes a proper appeal? I know if B1 hit the ball, the run scored by R1 as a preceeding runner would count. (I differentiate between situations (a) and (b) because a walk is a live ball situation and a HBP is a dead ball situation.) Does the run count, or, because the forced movement of R1 and R2 is eliminated due to the successful appeal, do we have one more out with B1 at 1st, R1 at 3rd, and R2 at second?

A little input here? I ran into this situation today, but fortunately, the defense didn't appeal.

Lee

[Edited by Leecedar on Dec 4th, 2004 at 06:30 PM]
Speaking ASA

The only person you can rule out on a proper appeal is the runner who failed to touch the next base. That means that R3 is the only out which means the inning is not over, so all runs count.

And, FYI, an umpire cannot honor an appeal until all baserunning tasks are completed or any advancement by runners entitled to such are obviously completed.

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1