The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 15, 2004, 01:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
I agree with Mike. According to 4-3.B, the FLEX is placed in the 10th position. The rule does NOT require the word "FLEX" be indicated on the lineup. Since a 10th player was listed, the FLEX was legally in the game, and by inference, the use of the DP is known (4-3.A) prior to the start of the game, and that player's name is indicated in one of the nine hitting positions.

Oh, which player is it? If all players but one have a listed defensive position, the one is the DP. If none have a listed position, that is a clerical error, correctable the same as discovering a wrong uniform number. You want a penalty, visitors? Sorry, none applicable, just a correction.

Plate umpire, learn the process and reasoning behind checking a lineup. The ONLY really necessary things to clarify is the DP, the FLEX, the pitcher and the catcher (to clarify who is initially eligible for a courtesy runner). At least get that part right; then, don't penalize a team incorrectly for not doing your job.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1