The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 02, 2004, 11:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
Strike4,
Yes, you were correct in your explanation. In your play, the lead runner owns the rights to that base.

I had a play a few years ago that could have had the same results, but the defense was a little more on the ball. R2, ball hit & bounces to the fence on a wet & semi-muddy field. R2 is slow, B-R is very quick. R2 rounds 3B & gets partway home before deciding not to try & score. She heads back to 3B, diving in just ahead of the sliding B-R and the throw. F6 catches the throw & doesn't know who is supposed to be there, but she's smart enough to know that only one can legally be on that base. She tags both, starting with R2. I pointed at R2 and said & signalled "safe". Then I pointed at the B-R and said & signalled "out". I laugh about that one everytime I speak with R2 - that was her college freshman year. She's all "growed up & ed-u-ma-cated" now & works for the same employer I do.
__________________
Steve M
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1