The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 16, 2004, 08:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Haven't seen this play too much over the years, but it happened Saturday, and I'm wondering whether I should have called anything.

This one unfolded as follows:

Abel on 2B. Baker grounds to F6, who throws to 1B to get Baker. Abel takes 3B on the throw and rounds the bag by three or four steps. F3 throws back to 3B in an attempt to get Abel. F5, standing a full step off the home side of 3B without the ball, is clearly obstructing as Abel scrambles back to 3B.

Now: Abel with both arms pushes the much bigger F5, who is thrown off balance as the throw skips through to the fence and Abel scores.

My question is whether I should have called anything for Abel pushing F5.

If it matters, when Abel reversed direction, F5 was right in his way. Abel really had no chance to try to run around F5.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1