The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 28, 2004, 04:34am
VaASAump
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally posted by teacherspit
Quote:
Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
Quote:
Originally posted by teacherspit
It is the umps' decision on how many bases the obstructed runner would have made. If obstruction was on the second base side of third and the ball is there, kill play and award third. On the home side of third and the ball is coming there. Kill the play and award home. All other runners are moved up if forced by BR.
Don't know where that comes from, but speaking ASA, the side of the base where the obstruction occurred has NOTHING to do with the awarded base.

Any obstruction between third and home the runner is awarded home. If the runner is obstructed before reaching third and the ball is inflight to third a play is being made on an obstructed runner. The play is killed and the runner awarded third.
Of course if the ump felt that an obstructed runner could have gotten more than one base he will award.
So, if R1 overruns 3B (without obstruction), and then is obstructed going BACK to 3B, you automatically award them home? (Speaking ASA only, not sure of other organizations).
Serg
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1