The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 15, 2004, 03:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 548
Send a message via AIM to TexBlue
Go back a coupla weeks, we had something like this. If the fielder does not have the ball and is in the baseline, she obstructs the runner. We were talking about a similar situation and Mike (gotta throw the big name out here, doncha know) said if the fielder does not have the ball, she has no right to the baseline. This is ASA's interpretation. So, we have OBS. On a batted ball, it's different. The runner has to allow the play to be made. But not on a muffed ball or a thrown ball.

As far as the runner protecting her face, that's just part of the game and no call would be necessary.
__________________
Rick
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1