The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 27, 2004, 12:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
Pitcher had plate blocked prior to receiving the ball but had the ball prior to runner arriving. Can we signal obstruction and at the last second or few seconds remove the obstruction?
_______________________________________________

The OBS call is not removed, it is just that if necessary,
apply the penalty, and if runner is advanced where you think
she would have been at the end of the play. If not, when
play is killed, put her where you think she should be.
________________________________________________

Or is the runner protected and returned to the previous base if in you judgement would have been out had the obstruction not occured?
_________________________________________________

Yes, Runner is protected as soon as you call the OBS, unless the runner, a) missed a base, b) left a base before fly ball was first touched, c) interferenced, or d) passed
another runner. (a & b are appeals).

glen

__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1