The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 18, 2004, 07:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
Quote:
Originally posted by SamNVa
Quote:
Originally posted by greymule
Second, Since Baker had successfully reached 3rd, during the OBS of Abel, he is effected by the outcome, and should be placed back on second, if in the judgement of the umpire Able would only have reaced 3rd.

Possibly so, but I think the others are saying that if Abel would have made only 3B, then Baker has no protection and is in jeopardy of being tagged out. All the answers to Play #2 had Baker out when tagged. Would you protect Baker in that play?
In this case, I say no, Baker is not protected, because she advanced to 3rd during the rundown, and if Able had not been obstructed she would have made it back to3rd and put Baker would have been in jeopardy anyway.

SamC
I may be wrong Sam, but the whole problem was caused when
the defense OBSD the runner. Good base runners will always
advance during a rundown. I don't think I would award the defense
the out since they caused the situation with the OBS.

Again, only MHO
__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1