The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Fri Jun 11, 2004, 03:40pm
Official Forum Member

I'm work for four differrent towns/asscoiations/UIC's, all Men's ASA SP Rec leagues. Last night I'm working for one that I'm fairly new with and the UIC is one of the coaches in the game. In my pre-game, I always state "3 warm up pitches every inning" as is ASA. At the begining of the top of the second inning, this coach/my UIC puts in a new pitcher. After 3 warm up pitches, I tell the catcher that's it. Pitcher throws fourth pitch. I call ball. Coach from bench asks what am I doing? I say he only gets three. Coach says no, he gets SEVEN. I say no, ASA is three, all the time for every new inning and every new pitcher, take a look at the book. (I'm hoping that I am right, and pretty sure that I am, else I would not have been so confident to contradict my boss in front of the whole game. But I stuck to my guns, politely) Game continues. He looks it up in the book, and next inning announces that I was correct. Whew!

Anyone ever had a boss/UIC question you like that during a game? How did it work out?
Old Fri Jun 11, 2004, 04:17pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to TexBlue
Never had a boss or UIC question it, but I've had several coaches over the years say they've never heard of such a rule. Or the 1 minute in between innings. Or awarding balls or strikes as mandated by the rules.

I keep feeling like I am educating the masses by enforcing the rules. Ahhh, the life and responsibilities of an educator---- uh, umpire.
Old Fri Jun 11, 2004, 04:19pm
Official Forum Member