The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 07, 2004, 01:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 858
Quote:
Originally posted by lildani14
This happened in my brother's Ponies game tonight but I'm just wondering how it would be handled in either sport, I'm sure its a fairly universal rule.

R1 on 1B substitute reports to umpire, umpire leaves backstop area to report substitue to home book. pitcher was on rubber as batter had stepped into box but then stepped off forward toward the plate because he saw the umpire was not in position. 1B coach said thats a balk and told his runner to go to 2B. umpire didn't see it, plus he was inexperienced the way it was. (it was his first game behind plate, a friend of mine) just wondering...if the umpire is not in position is it possible to have a balk/illegal pitch? wouldn't it be considered no pitch if anything at all?

if question, i can try and explain it more...
So....what happened, did the umpire/s leave the runner at second base?

From the way this situation was described, time out was in effect. No balk, runner returns to first base.

Before putting the ball back in play, I would have a lil' chat with the 1B coach about how I don't coach his players and he will NOT make anymore judgment calls regarding plays on the field.

Michael
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1