The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 06, 2004, 09:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 263
Ejection

Quote:
Originally posted by Dakota
A similar question came up before in the context of a team that started, as yours did, with 10 and listed FLEX - DP on the lineup.

After an injury, they were reduced to 9 on defense and 8 on offense. A second injury reduced them to 8 on defense and 7 on offense. (I may not have the exact scenario right, but the end result was 7 batting, 8 in the field.)

The question was, could they continue - after all, they still did have 8 active players.

Answer: No.

The shorthanded rule is stated in terms of the offensive lineup, and always talks in the singular - "THE vacant position... "

Same concept here. The 9th player on defense does not "count" in the shorthanded rule when the team is on offense.

4-1D-2a covers this.

4-8C says the shorthanded rule cannot be used with an ejected player.

In your situation, they game should have been forfeited.
What if the Flex is substituted for the DP (or vice versa)? That would eliminate one of those positions giving you a substitute to re-enter.
__________________
Nature bats last!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1