The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 30, 2004, 02:42pm
Never Stop Learning
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 518
In NFHS this is a legal play as there is no rule about where the mitt can be used. In ASA reference rule 8-8-O which gives the offended coach the option of taking the results of the play or return all base runners to where they were at the time of the pitch and batter back to bat assumming the count at the time of the pitch. If the umpire was able to notice the mitt in the wrong fielders hand have them change before this happens. Don't forget to get rid of the mitt in the wrong position also. All this must be done with the same ruling of an appeal play, before next pitch legal or illegal, before the pitcher and all infielders have left fair territory and the catcher has left their normal fielding position on the way to the dug out, or before umpires have left the field at the end of the game. It doesn't have to come from the offended team though, it can be detected by the umpires also.

[Edited by Ed Maeder on May 30th, 2004 at 04:00 PM]
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1