The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 17, 2004, 03:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
It's been a while since I ran an ASA game, but isn't there part of the rule that tells you when LBR becomes in effect?

In the scenario described above, you can't stop play and call R1 out for standing on 2nd. I can't find the verbiage to interpret that rule that way. (Not to mention that R2 can certainly start heading toward third base).

You mention intent. The purpose (intent) of the rule is to get rid of the intentional stopping between bases to force defense to make a play. I don't believe it's intent was to penalize a runner for heading toward a base that's occupied, if her intent was not to force a play (her intent, in this case, seems to simply be a mistake - it's 10U after all).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1