The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 16, 2004, 12:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 964
Once again, the "retired runner" issue.

NFHS 8.6.17: "After being declared out, a runner intentionally interferes with a defensive player's opportunity to make a play on another runner."

A runner is not expected to disappear; she should be allowed to continue her running as long as she does not deliberately interfere.

HOWEVER, be careful about using the NFHS casebook to support your position. It give two example of interference, one contact, the second an altered throw. It does not state that the action was intentional or not. But it does say, in the umpire's judgment, that if interference prevented an out or hindered a play the runner closes to home will also be called out.

The rule says that interference has to be intentional; the case book is not clear on that.

WMB
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1