The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 07, 2004, 05:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
If it is a deflected ball, then according to the rules, intent is required for interference. (Intentional interference of course does not necessarily mean deliberate interference.)

I have no problem at all with the test question/answer, which does not specify that the contact was intentional. If F4 is picking up a ball that bounced off his chest, the runner must avoid him just as if F4 was fielding a ground ball. I do have a problem considering this a deflected ball, however. I think F4 has more protection than if the ball had caromed off F1.

The change from "another player" to "any player" occurred in 1999, before ASA added the "intent" clauses in 2002 and 2003. I suspect that ASA's wording was not so carefully wrought as to include a ball off F4's chest as a deflected ball.

We all know of instances in which ASA changed a rule but did not ferret out every other place that the change affected in the rule book. I think POE #32 may be another.

[Edited by greymule on May 7th, 2004 at 06:54 AM]
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1