The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 09, 2004, 01:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 508
Quote:
Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
Quote:
Originally posted by Dakota
ASA 2004 POE 22
Quote:
GLOVE (Using the wrong glove)[list=A][*] If discovered or brought to the umpire's attention, it should be corrected immediately or the player using the glove cannot play.[*] If a defensive team has a shift and the first baseman moves out of an area which the player would normally cover, the mitt should not be allowed to be used in the new area.[/list=A]
There is no specificity on how far removed from the area normally covered by F3 is acceptable. Umpire judgment - IOW, you get to decide.

It should be noted that regardless of the position at the TOP, if that player is the closest to 1B, or in the most likely position to cover that base on a batted ball, they should be permitted to wear a mitt.

So in the following scenario, who is allowed to use the mitt?

Infield way in taking away the bunt (I'm talking 15-20 feet from the plate at the corners, 2B/SS about 35 feet back) and outfield on the edge of the grass. Who is responsible for fielding first? RIGHTFIELD! That's right, to my surprise, RF covered the throw at first base on the slap attempt (of course, primary coverage for RF was to stop the slap). So, since F3 isn't likely to cover first, she can't use the mitt? RIGHT? What's the call if she does field the ball, and throws to first (Being covered by RF)?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:06pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1