The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 15, 2004, 03:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 727
I've been doing some reading since I posted, and I think I've found my answer about the base on balls (walk) in the look-back rule.

Rule 8-7-3: Responsibilities of batter runner after completing a turn at bat, and while the pitcher has the ball within the 16-foot pitching circle, INCLUDING A BASE ON BALLS or a dropped thrid strike are as follows:
d) A batter-runner who overrunns first base toward right field, turns left and moves back toward the infield in any driection except directly toward second base is committed to first and must return to first base.
e) A batter-runner who overruns first base toward right field, and turns right, is committed to first base and must return to first base.

With the specific statement, "including a base on balls" it seems to me that a batter-runner could over-walk first base and is without liablility to be put out as long as she returns directly back to first base.

Am I right, or am I off-base (no pun intended)?

__________________
"Not all heroes have time to pose for sculptors...some still have papers to grade."
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:59am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1