The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 11, 2004, 08:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Stopped by an NCAA game yesterday and saw a coach put the game under protest for the following ruling.

Abel on 1B, no outs. Baker bunted and, as she took off for 1B, threw the bat down in front of the plate. (This was not some kind of unusual or violent throwing of the bat. The play looked normal, but she sort of "pushed," rather than "dropped," the bat to the ground.) The ball rolled up against the bat, and F2 grabbed the ball and threw to 1B for the out.

Coach argued that it should have been called a dead ball. (Exactly what else she was arguing was hard to determine. I don't know whether she claimed the batter should be out or not, but she was making a big deal about "intentionally.") Umps ruled the ball in play but informed the opposing coach that the game was being played under protest.

Any odds on the chances the protest will be upheld?
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1