I don't think Rule 11-21-h applies to this kind of play. It is about the bat actually going toward a fielder like when it slips out of the batter's hands and flys toward F1 or F5. The word "whole" is in the book because it differentiates a whole bat from a broken piece of a bat, covered in 11-8-b, which is not interference. This case did not sound like the bat went toward a fielder.
Also it is about a "thrown" bat; whereas this case is apparently covered by 11-21-j and 11-15.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
|