Thread: Protested game
View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 12, 2004, 07:11am
Del-Blue Del-Blue is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 190
One thing you need to remember. This was NCAA.

Batter is out.

Rule 11-21-h/Batting: The batter throws the whole bat into fair territory,whether intentional or not, and it interferes with a defensive player attempting to make a play.
Maybe that was what the coach was protesting.

You could also get two outs if the umpire judged it prevented a possible DP

I almost forgot. I guess it is still umpire judgment, so I would have to say it would not be upheld.

[Edited by Del-Blue on Apr 12th, 2004 at 08:13 AM]
__________________
Bob
Del-Blue
NCAA, ASA, NFHS
NIF
Reply With Quote