The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 05, 2004, 04:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15
Question

Remembered a play from the 17th game of my fledgling FP career (ASA 10U):

R1 on 2B. 1 out. R1 attempts to steal 3rd. F2 catches pitch and gets up to make a throw to 3rd, but the batter puts one foot out of the batter's box to take a practice swing. F2 had to avoid the swing so she wouldn't get hit, and could not throw to 3rd.
In my judgement, the batter wasn't intentionally interfering with the play, but was doing her normal routine she was taught to do after every pitch and wasn't even paying attention to her teammate attempt to steal.

Which rule applies here?
7-6-P-1 Says "the batter shall not hinder the catcher from catching or throwing the ball by stepping out of the box". No mention of intent, and does one foot out of the box constitute "out of the box"?
7-6-P-2 says "the batter shall not intentionally hinder the catcher while standin WITHIN the box". In my case there was no intent, but batter was half in, half out. ??
7-6-P-3 says, "the batter shall intentionally interfere with a thrown ball, in or out of the box". In my case, no intent, but ball was never thrown.

Sincerely,
Confused in Cali
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1