The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Dropped 3rd Strike (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/13020-dropped-3rd-strike.html)

WestMichBlue Sun Apr 04, 2004 06:45pm

I know that its late, but I decided to throw in my two cents worth.

1. U3K rule is based on a non-legal catch of a pitched (thrown) ball.

2. Foul Tip is a batted ball.

What the catcher legally caught was a batted ball, not a pitched ball. Strike three, batter out.

WMB

mcrowder Mon Apr 05, 2004 02:21pm

If you're ruling a foul tip, batter out, how do you reconcile this:

Ball bounces, batter swings and misses, catcher "catches" it - the batter can try to run for first.

Ball bounces, batter barely hits it, catcher "catches" it - the batter cannot try for first.

The logic doesn't sit well. The batter is allowed to try for first because he failed to hit the ball? Seems backward.

mcrowder Mon Apr 05, 2004 03:30pm

I've read and reread (Dixie, Fed, OBA, MLB, ASA). I can't find any source that states that a foultip negates the right of the batter to run to first.

In all other cases, we treat a foultip exactly the same as a missed swinging strike - stealing runners can run, etc. Why, in just this one isolated case, are so many assuming that we should treat this one differently. Seems to me a foultip on a pitch that bounced before the foul should be treated exactly the same as a pitch that was simply missed.

Foultip, Strike Three. Batter can try to reach first, and must be tagged before he's called out.

IRISHMAFIA Mon Apr 05, 2004 03:33pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mcrowder
I've read and reread (Dixie, Fed, OBA, MLB, ASA). I can't find any source that states that a foultip negates the right of the batter to run to first.

In all other cases, we treat a foultip exactly the same as a missed swinging strike - stealing runners can run, etc. Why, in just this one isolated case, are so many assuming that we should treat this one differently. Seems to me a foultip on a pitch that bounced before the foul should be treated exactly the same as a pitch that was simply missed.

Foultip, Strike Three. Batter can try to reach first, and must be tagged before he's called out.

ASA specifically states that when a foul tip is caught on a third strike, the batter is out.


SamNVa Mon Apr 05, 2004 07:23pm

Mcrowder,

The difference between a foul tip and a missed strike 3 is that a foul tip is a batted ball and therefore it is no longer a pitch. By rights, the batter should be out if the catcher catches a foul tip since it is a batter ball caught in flight; however the rules makers decided that this was unfair to the batter since <b>the catcher normally did not have to do anything unusual to catch the ball,</b> so instead they ruled it simply a strike if the catcher caught the ball and a foul ball if she did not, By your login, a ball that bounces and then is tipped by the batter and caught by the catcher should be a foul ball, rather than a U3K since the foul tip was not "caught".

BTW, it is the same logic as the bolded statement above that is used to call a batter out if the catcher does have to do something unusual (like jump up or make a lunge) to catch the ball, because it is considered a batted ball caught in-flight.

So ultimately it is the change in status of the ball, from a pitch to a batted ball that is the deciding factor on a foul tip vs. an U3K on the pitch that bounces.

SamC

Skahtboi Tue Apr 06, 2004 09:05am

Quote:

Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
ASA specifically states that when a foul tip is caught on a third strike, the batter is out.


As does everyone else!

mcrowder Tue Apr 06, 2004 09:40am

Fair enough - brain fart. My bad. I see the rule now.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1