The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 10, 2004, 01:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Speaking ASA

As pointed out, there is no such rule to call a runner out for leaving a base line. There is no immediate penalty for running to a wrong base unless you passed another runner to do it. R2 is obviously out.

Now, here is where the problem lies. If the umpire kills the ball prior to an appeal of 3B, you must let the runner return to touch the base prior to accepting the appeal. Even better, according to the book, once the ball becomes dead and a runner has advanced beyond the base where they belong, the umpire is instructed to return the runner to the correct base without liability to be put out. The book, however, does not address specifically what to do when the runner ends up a base behind.

This would make for a great discussion in the middle of the field with both coaches and a bunch of parents (all experts in the 10U rules) screaming what to do.

The smart thing for the runner to have done was score. That way, she could not have been put out, but just returned to 3B. But at 10U, what do you want?

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1