The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 10, 2004, 12:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
wrt "2. In the same vein as number 1. Dp in for flex(F1). Can flex reenter as F9 defensively but not offensively ( F9 still batting in her regular spot?)."

After the first change, the DP (e.g. #30) is both DP and FLEX and the FLEX (e.g., #12) is not in the game. For the original FLEX #12 to play F9, she would have to reenter for #30 as FLEX or FLEX/DP.

If #12 reentered as FLEX only with #30 remaining as DP, #12 could switch defense positions with F9.
If #12 reentered for #30 as FLEX/DP, #12 could switch defense positions with F9, but both would still bat.
If #12 reentered as FLEX only, the DP could play defense as F9 and the original F9 would still bat. That's the way to move the F9 player to the bench.

CAVEAT: This came up on the NFHS forum and Dakota and I did not agree.

ADDED 3/17: Now that I reread the rule in NFHS and ASA and the even clearer NCAA book (instead of what I thought I heard at meetings), I agree with Dakota and stand corrected on my earlier comment.

[Edited by CecilOne on Mar 17th, 2004 at 02:15 PM]
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1