The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 08, 2004, 12:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 548
Send a message via AIM to TexBlue
previously posted by Dakota

How easily are you guys provoked today???


Quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Originally posted by Bluefoot
Bases loaded, R1 on 3B, R2 on 2B, R3 on 1B, no outs. B4 hits a long base hit. All three runners score and B4 is thrown out when tyring to reach 3B. Then the defense properly appeals that both R2 and R3 did not touch 3B to end the inning. Does R1's run count?
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The first out was a non-force out (B4/R4 at 3rd). However, the appeal of R2 missing 3rd is a force out (appeal of a missed base to which the runner was forced to advance).

So, could a clever defense have appealed R3's missed base first (time out) for the second out, and THEN appealed R2's missed base for the third out? Yes - no runs score.
__________________________________________________ _________


I humbly (sort of) disagree. The force out definitely happened before the appeal. Thus the timing on the play only pertains to the last out, which was the appeal. Sooooo, the run does count, as it happened before the appeal was made.
__________________
Rick
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1