The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 04, 2004, 11:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally posted by Ref Ump Welsch
Sounds like a blown call to me. Blue should not have made a safe call right away, as the runner never touched the bag.
The slight hesitation mechanic is for a missed tag / missed base at home, not for any other missed base. Quoting from the NFHS 2004 Rules Book,
Quote:
APPEAL PROCEDURES AND GUIDELINES
9. Missing First Base Before the Throw Arrives.
If a runner passes first base before the throw arrives, she is considered to have touched the base unless an appeal is made. If an appeal is made, it must be made prior to the runner returning to first base while the ball is live.
Quote:
Originally posted by Ref Ump Welsch
...F3 already did the appeal (inappropriately I might add). Of course, blue seems to have missed that appeal too. In other words, totally screwed up situation.
Since you agree that there was not a proper appeal by F3, how can you say the umpire missed the appeal?

For an appeal in this kind of situation (late throw or muffed catch on a force out) to be recognized, the defense must demonstrate that they are doing something beyond completing the force play too late. They must actually make an appeal.

[Edited by Dakota on Mar 4th, 2004 at 10:07 AM]
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1