The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 19, 2004, 02:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 508
To play devil's advocate, If a runner rounds first on a base on balls or on a play were the defense gives up, why should we call her out? Isn't she supposed to pick up the ball once rounding the base? Isn't she just being aggressive with base running?

Take this scenario: We have a runner on second and first, a base on balls to the batter, runner from second (R1) jogs to third and rounds it, picking up the ball when she rounds. For argument sake, let's say that R3 reaches first and stops on first simultaneously with R1's round of third. If we apply "committed to second" logic to R3, her round has "committed here home" and she must break for it. But no one calls here out, because she is rounding the base, looking for the ball (unless coach stops her).

Why can't a runner round first, stop and return? Is the intent of the rule to CONTROL THE RUNNER, or to get cheap outs?

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1