The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 06, 2004, 10:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
Originally posted by greymule
I'm not talking about a swing that occurs after the ball hits. We know that's to be called a ball.

I'm talking about a pitch that is swung at. The batter swings in an obvious attempt to hit it in the air. He does not see it bounce and then swing. If the batter misses it everyone would see it as a strike. That's a different story. 7-5-A says, "[A ball is called by the umpire] for each legally pitched ball which . . . touches the ground before reaching home plate, or touches home plate, and the batter does not swing. [My emphasis.]

So obviously the batter can legally swing at such a pitch, but he cannot swing after the pitch hits the ground or plate (7-5-B).

I'm still confused.
ASA 7.5.A is FP only!

ASA 7.5.B (Slow Pitch Only) includes the sentences: Any pitched ball that hits the ground or plate cannot be legally swung at by the batter. If the batter swings at a pitch after the ball hits the ground or plate, it is a ball.

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1