The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 29, 2004, 11:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
Our association held one of its pre season HS meetings last night. Here is the discussion point:

You are BU, R1 on first. R1 attempts to steal 2B, yuo move to good position and make the call on a close play. For the purposes of the scenario, the call itself does not matter. The coach of the team the call went against comes charging out of the dugout to "discuss" the call. As s/he get close to you, s/he trips/stumbles/falls or momentum carries him/her into you and you are bumped. Do you eject the coach for making physical contact with you?

For the purposes of this discussion, ignore the fact that the coach "charged" out of the dugout.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 29, 2004, 11:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 517
Angry

IMO you can't ignore the "charging". That is what percipitated the stumbling/fall/contact.

The coach is gone.

Roger Greene
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 29, 2004, 02:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Some of the guys I work with would have ejected him during the "charging" part, before he even got that close. Personally, I probably wouldn't have, but I agree with Roger - it was the aggressive inappropriate behavior from the coach that precipitated the contact. He's gone.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 29, 2004, 04:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
I'm going to agree with Roger, too.

Andy, was Emily there & what was her take on that?
__________________
Steve M
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 29, 2004, 04:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 18
Got to agree, if he "charged" out and fell, s/he is gone. Now if he or she calmly walked out and tripped and fell because they were clumsy, I would probably let that go. Coach is going to be embarrassed enough in that case.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 29, 2004, 06:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
Andy,

I think that the coach will be in violation of all of the following
rules, 3-6-6, 3-6-15 and 3-6-16, the latter two
carrying an ejection as penalty unless the offense is
judged to be of a minor nature. Since it seems his action
were aggressive.

JMHO,
__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 29, 2004, 11:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 546
Send a message via AIM to TexBlue
I have to agree. The coaches' running out there sets the tone for the situation. Running out in a bellicose manner and then stumbling, whether by accident or intentional, is gonna get the coach a trip to Austin to explain why their presence was no longer necessary on the field. I'm not sure I'd eject them on the charging out on the field. I'd give it serious consideration, it just depends on what kind of discussion we have.
__________________
Rick
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 30, 2004, 10:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
Quote:
Originally posted by Steve M
I'm going to agree with Roger, too.

Andy, was Emily there & what was her take on that?
Emily was not at this particular meeting.

The discussion started when the facilitator was discussing ejections and made the statement that any physical contact by a coach toward an umpire was an immediate, automatic ejection. Of course, this brought up a bunch of "what ifs".

The one that I posted was the most interesting and debated situation. I just wanted to throw it out there for thoughts.

Personally, my take was the same as Roger's and yours - I've already ejected the coach due to the "charging" before he got close enough to bump me.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 30, 2004, 12:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 112
I thought you said to ignore the "charge" Maybe just pointing and laughing real loud would be enough. Brian
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 31, 2004, 01:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,718
Coach charges out of the dugout, without given a time out. As soon as he/she crosses the foul line, GONE!

Bob
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1