![]() |
|
|||
We've been discussing force plays removed by a following runner passing another runner. How would an out for removing a helmet figure into this?
ASA Rule 3-5-E-1: . . . Wearing the helmet improperly or removing the helmet during a live ball play and judged [sic] by the umpire to be a deliberate act shall cause the violator to be called out immediately. The ball remains live. Calling a runner out for removing a helmet does not remove force play situations. . . . OK. Abel on 3B, Baker on 2B, Charles on 1B, 2 out. Daniels grounds to F5, who elects to tag Baker. Baker stops in the baseline. Abel scores. Charles stops on 2B, then removes her helmet and is called out. Apparently the force play at 3B is still in effect, and if F5 now tags Baker, the run does not count. But if the defense does not get a force out on Baker or put Daniels out before she gets to 1B, the run would count. What about these plays?: Abel on 3B, Baker on 1B, no outs. Charles gets a base on balls and starts to trot to 1B. F2 throws to 3B in an unsuccessful attempt to pick Abel off. Charles removes her helmet to switch to another one. Umpire calls Charles out for removing her helmet during a live ball play. Since the force play is not removed by Charles removing her helmet, is Baker awarded 2B anyway? And if Baker stays at 1B, can the defense appeal to 2B, the base that Baker was "forced" to but that she did not touch? Abel on 1B, no out. Baker hits a high pop near 2B. Baker takes a step toward 1B, removes her helmet, is called out, and starts back toward her dugout. F4 drops the ball, but then picks it up with her foot touching 2B. Is Abel out at 2B?
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! |
Bookmarks |
|
|