Thread: Rule 3-5-E-1
View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 08, 2004, 04:37pm
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by greymule

OK. Abel on 3B, Baker on 2B, Charles on 1B, 2 out. Daniels grounds to F5, who elects to tag Baker. Baker stops in the baseline. Abel scores. Charles stops on 2B, then removes her helmet and is called out. Apparently the force play at 3B is still in effect, and if F5 now tags Baker, the run does not count.

But if the defense does not get a force out on Baker or put Daniels out before she gets to 1B, the run would count.
That's true, but I cannot see F5 stopping the play because R3 removed her helmet. It is not a dead ball. Even the dumbest SP player always continues with a play.

Quote:

What about these plays?:

Abel on 3B, Baker on 1B, no outs. Charles gets a base on balls and starts to trot to 1B. F2 throws to 3B in an unsuccessful attempt to pick Abel off. Charles removes her helmet to switch to another one. Umpire calls Charles out for removing her helmet during a live ball play. Since the force play is not removed by Charles removing her helmet, is Baker awarded 2B anyway? And if Baker stays at 1B, can the defense appeal to 2B, the base that Baker was "forced" to but that she did not touch?
A good umpire will not call the BR out on this play if her dugout was on the 1B side. I'm making this assumption based on the statement that the BR started toward 1B prior to swapping helmets.
Quote:
Abel on 1B, no out. Baker hits a high pop near 2B. Baker takes a step toward 1B, removes her helmet, is called out, and starts back toward her dugout. F4 drops the ball, but then picks it up with her foot touching 2B. Is Abel out at 2B?
As long as it wasn't an intentional drop, yes.



__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote