The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 07, 2019, 09:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 633
1:25 finish the batter

I stopped announcing "last batter" 2 years ago when a pitcher, who was hitting her spots all day, plugged the batter in the shoulder on the next pitch.

One time recently, we announced "that's game ladies, line em up", without announcing last batter, and the offense went berzerk, saying they'd have handled the running situation differently had they known.

This weekend, my base partner took it upon himself to announce "last batter", and BAM! next pitch right in the batter's hip. SONOFA...

Anyway, got me thinking, shouldn't be a problem notifying the Offense only. If they want to have their runners just keep going til they get put out, fine.

Question: Regarding the LBR, runner is allowed 1 stop after which they must return nonstop or advance nonstop. May they continue nonstop beyond that base onto the next, and next, and next (obviously they don't get another stop after each base)?

Last edited by jmkupka; Mon Oct 07, 2019 at 09:11am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 07, 2019, 09:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
I stopped announcing "last batter" 2 years ago when a pitcher, who was hitting her spots all day, plugged the batter in the shoulder on the next pitch.

One time recently, we announced "that's game ladies, line em up", without announcing last batter, and the offense went berzerk, saying they'd have handled the running situation differently had they known.

This weekend, my base partner took it upon himself to announce "last batter", and BAM! next pitch right in the batter's hip. SONOFA...

Anyway, got me thinking, shouldn't be a problem notifying the Offense only. If they want to have their runners just keep going til they get put out, fine.

Question: Regarding the LBR, runner is allowed 1 stop after which they must return nonstop or advance nonstop. May they continue nonstop beyond that base onto the next, and next, and next (obviously they don't get another stop after each base)?
LBR: Yes, one stop allowed, not on a base. Passing a base doesn't reset anything.
As to announcing, this seems like a local color question. If the home team is ahead, I'll let coaches know when we're close to time at the beginning of the bottom half of the inning and then I check after each batter or long delay during a batter. If your rule says to finish the batter that you've started, I'd suggest that you shouldn't announce last batter until the time has expired (then it truly is the last batter.) And if your concern is that they'll throw at the last batter, I'm skeptical that this will be a big concern, after all they can just intentionally walk her and achieve the same thing.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 07, 2019, 02:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 633
So, ball in circle, B/R rounds 1B, halfway to 2B takes her one allotted stop, advances non-stop to 2B, rounds it and stops, she is immediately out, correct?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 07, 2019, 07:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
So, ball in circle, B/R rounds 1B, halfway to 2B takes her one allotted stop, advances non-stop to 2B, rounds it and stops, she is immediately out, correct?
Correct, as long as the pitcher hasn't made a play on anyone or left the circle in the meantime.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 08, 2019, 08:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,362
"Time limit" or Time has expired", "no new batter".
That is all we should do.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 09, 2019, 02:04pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,341
Honestly, why as umpires should we care that the defense plunks the announced last batter? It's the nature of the beast when you use a time limit of "X:XX, finish the batter".

Really no different than when rec ball uses a "once around the order" limit so that nobody bats a second time in the inning; if the pitcher plunks the batter, what is it to us other than, maybe, us ruling unsporting conduct? I'm not going to let that prevent me from letting everyone know that the time limit has been reached and the current batter up to bat is the last batter of the game.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Here's another amazing finish Mark Padgett Basketball 0 Mon Mar 12, 2012 11:33am
let the play finish? Chris Whitten Basketball 47 Thu Jan 05, 2012 02:06pm
Best finish so far this season The R Basketball 5 Wed Dec 21, 2011 09:59am
TX/WVA what a finish! Nevadaref Basketball 2 Fri Mar 24, 2006 12:24am
Finish this sentence Mark Padgett Basketball 21 Wed Jan 02, 2002 11:27pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1