![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
A batter becomes a batter-runner on a
A batter-runner is out when she steps toward home plate to avoid a tag when running to 1B. Ergo, a BR is out for INT when the BR increases his or her distance from 1B in an attempt to avoid or delay a tag. Intent not required. The BR is out, dead ball + runners return to TOI, by an INT ruling in your scenario......IF I am playing Rulebook Lawyer....which is one of my favorite games. That said, I think common sense says to pass on this one, and keep the ball live....but I don't think it would survive a protest. If you make this call, sell the shit out of it.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker. Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed) "I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean." Last edited by teebob21; Fri Sep 13, 2019 at 03:40pm. |
|
|||
|
This is wrong. If it were right then the batter runner couldn't try to go AROUND a tag. The rule is about getting CLOSER to home plate. I started to rewrite what you said that way but it doesn't work either. Because one decreases one's distance from home plate by moving parallel to the third base line toward the first base line. I think the mathematical answer is that retreating toward home occurs when the perpendicular distance of the runner to the third base line decreases.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
" in an attempt to avoid or delay a tag." That statement alone implies there is an intent involved, so you can't say intent is not required and say "in an attempt to avoid or delay a tag." For me to call this it has to be obvious that she is attempting to avoid or delay being tagged rather than simply being a batter that was off balance and not attempting to step back from a swing or attempting to get out of the way of the catcher who was attempting to make a play on the runner advancing from 2nd to 3rd. |
|
|||
|
the crux of my question is, regarding the INT rule that states a runner can't step back away from 1B, does the rule include 1B extended beyond home plate.
If yes, then in the OP, it's a dead ball R1 returns to 2B. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|