The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 10, 2019, 09:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 24
What is the call here?

So I am doing a softball title game Sunday. One man system. This whole play at game speed happened in 1-2 seconds.

Runners on first and second with one out. Batter rips a shot back to the pitcher who short hops it then turns to fire it to the SS running over to cover second to get runner on first going to second and get a possible DP at first.

Runner on second is not sure if the ball was caught on the line drive by the pitcher so he does not move but stays on the bag. Pitchers throw hits the runner who is still on second right before SS is ready to catch it crossing the bag, then SS runs into runner still on second as ball is rolling away.

Everyone on batting team who saw the pitcher short hop it is yelling run, run so Runner on second realizes ball is live and proceeds to third.

What is your call here? No call and play on or runner interference?

Last edited by Billyball; Tue Sep 10, 2019 at 09:48am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 10, 2019, 09:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,181
Quote:
Originally Posted by Billyball View Post
So I am doing a softball title game Sunday. One man system. This whole play at game speed happened in 1-2 seconds.

Runners on first and second with one out. Batter rips a shot back to the pitcher who short hops it then turns to fire it to the SS running over to cover second to get runner on first going to second and get a possible DP at first.

Runner on second is not sure if the ball was caught on the line drive by the pitcher so he does not move but stays on the bag. Pitchers throw hits the runner who is still on second right before SS is ready to catch it crossing the bag, then SS runs into runner still on second as ball is rolling away.

Everyone on batting team who saw the pitcher short hop it is yelling run, run so Runner on second realizes ball is live and proceeds to third.

What is your call here? No call and play on or runner interference?
The call is obstruction. The runner didn't intentionally interfere with a thrown ball. But, by being crashed into, she was delayed in her advance to third.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 10, 2019, 09:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
The call is obstruction. The runner didn't intentionally interfere with a thrown ball. But, by being crashed into, she was delayed in her advance to third.
All runners were safe when play was over. Decision was who obstructed who if any.

Last edited by Billyball; Tue Sep 10, 2019 at 10:16am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 10, 2019, 10:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Derry, NH
Posts: 1,189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Billyball View Post
All runners were safe when play was over. Decision was who obstructed who if any.
Well, as described, there was only 1 collision. It happened with a fielder who was not in possession of the ball and a base runner who had not interfered with a thrown ball.

I'll agree with the opinion that we have an OBS call on F6.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 10, 2019, 11:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,348
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
The call is obstruction. The runner didn't intentionally interfere with a thrown ball. But, by being crashed into, she was delayed in her advance to third.
The only thing that matters is "SS runs into runner ".
R1 is "protected" between 2nd and 3rd, but no reason in the OP for any award.

As to the question of INT, nothing said about intent.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 10, 2019, 11:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
Well, as described, there was only 1 collision. It happened with a fielder who was not in possession of the ball and a base runner who had not interfered with a thrown ball.

I'll agree with the opinion that we have an OBS call on F6.
Defensive team said baserunner on second obstructed because after ball was hit second was not his bag anymore.

This is what confused me.

If a runner's interference is caused by his being positioned at a legally occupied base and the fielder is trying to make a play on a batted ball in the vicinity of the base, interference is not called.

With runners on first and second After the ball was hit could the runner on second "legally" occupy second base?

Last edited by Billyball; Tue Sep 10, 2019 at 12:02pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 10, 2019, 12:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,348
Quote:
Originally Posted by Billyball View Post
After the ball was hit could the runner on second "legally" occupy second base?
Until R2 reaches it.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 10, 2019, 09:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,114
I agree with obstruction. I understand the defense being pissed about this situation as it is one you don't see often, but the correct call, if a call is made is obstruction.

The reason I say if a call is made, is that at the time the contact is made, the runner is not attempting to advance, and we don't know if the runner was attempting to advance when he was run into, so we can't say that he was in fact delayed in advancing because he was run into.

Given the way the play played out I could see a no call as well. What I can't see is interference.

One reason I may not call obstruction on this, or at least make a big deal out of it is to avoid the major argument that could come from making and announcing the obstruction call. The defense is likely to be pissed enough anyway, so announcing the obstruction, when nothing is changed by it, might just inflame the situation.

Last edited by chapmaja; Tue Sep 10, 2019 at 09:50pm.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 11, 2019, 08:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,536
Speaking USA

It is not INT. The runner committed no act let alone one which interfered with a play.

As presented, by definition it is not OBS. The runner was not making any attempt to advance so there was no movement to deter.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 11, 2019, 08:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,536
Quote:
Originally Posted by chapmaja View Post
One reason I may not call obstruction on this, or at least make a big deal out of it is to avoid the major argument that could come from making and announcing the obstruction call. The defense is likely to be pissed enough anyway, so announcing the obstruction, when nothing is changed by it, might just inflame the situation.
As presented, it seems to be nothing. But if your sole purpose to not make a call is to avoid upsetting a participant, you might want to find something else to do with your spare time.

If an umpire sees something, s/he should make the call regardless of the outcome simply because that is what you are being paid to do. It also helps in the education of everyone involved.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 12, 2019, 07:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,348
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Speaking USA

As presented, by definition it is not OBS. The runner was not making any attempt to advance so there was no movement to deter.
Irish,
Can being forced be interpreted the same as an actual attempt?

Similar:
- reaching 1st, bumps F3, stays there
- ball gets away from fielder at a base, who lands on runner
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 12, 2019, 08:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,536
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
Irish,
Can being forced be interpreted the same as an actual attempt?
Show me a rule which states a runner must leave a base
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 12, 2019, 02:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Show me a rule which states a runner must leave a base
OK, called an ASA official that I know and basically he said

"No call is the correct call" Only other call would be SS interference for impeding runner to third.

Was told after ball was hit and fielded by the pitcher the runner on second can stay there if he wants and does not have to move as long he does not "Intentionally interfere"

When the thrown ball hit the runner on second it is the same as if it hit him 5 ft or 25ft off the bag. Live ball and finish the play.

Of course if the SS fielded the ball and tagged him before tagging second he would be out.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 13, 2019, 10:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,348
Quote:
Originally Posted by Billyball View Post
OK, called an ASA official that I know and basically he said

"No call is the correct call" Only other call would be SS interference for impeding runner to third.

Was told after ball was hit and fielded by the pitcher the runner on second can stay there if he wants and does not have to move as long he does not "Intentionally interfere"

When the thrown ball hit the runner on second it is the same as if it hit him 5 ft or 25ft off the bag. Live ball and finish the play.

Of course if the SS fielded the ball and tagged him before tagging second he would be out.
Only other call would be SS obstruction for impeding runner to third.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
World Series call/no call discussion SWFLguy Softball 24 Tue Jun 06, 2017 10:15pm
State Playoffs - Call or No Call Blindolbat Basketball 33 Sun Mar 10, 2013 08:19am
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection DaveASA/FED Softball 28 Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm
To call or not to call foul ball DaveASA/FED Softball 11 Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call OverAndBack Basketball 36 Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1